fundación linea directa

PRESS RELEASE

#Premioperiodístico

LAS PROVINCIAS, ONDA CERO PALENCIA AND LA SEXTA, WINNERS OF THE 19TH LÍNEA DIRECTA FOUNDATION ROAD SAFETY JOURNALISM AWARD

- This year's winners were Juan Antonio Marrahí, from Las Provincias (Written Press and Online Media); Ana María Herrero, from Onda Cero Palencia (Radio), and Beatriz Correal, from La Sexta (TV).
- The jury, chaired by Pere Navarro (Director General of Traffic) and made up
 of various figures in finance and journalism, has chosen the winners among
 1,900+ news reports and articles from all over Spain, 21% more than last
 year.
- The Solidarity Award has gone to the FEDACE (Spanish Brain Injury Federation), for its contribution to improving the quality of life of people who suffer brain injury, and of their families.
- The journalist and editor Enrique Hernández-Luike has received the Honorary Journalism Award posthumously, for his outstanding efforts to disseminate road safety throughout his professional career at the head of the Luike Group.
- The awards ceremony took place on Monday evening, 20 June, at the Gran Teatro Príncipe Pío; the journalist Marta García Aller acted as the master of ceremonies.

Madrid, 21 June 2021 – On 20 June, Monday evening, the **Línea Directa Foundation** held the awards ceremony for the **19th edition of the Road Safety Journalism Award.** The ceremony took place at the Gran Teatro Príncipe Pío in Madrid and journalist Marta García Aller was the master of ceremonies. A reference among journalism competitions in Spain, the award **recognises the work of road safety information professionals**, always with the aim of encouraging responsible driving in society as a whole.

In this 19th edition, the winners in each of the three award categories have been: **Juan Antonio Marrahí**, from **Las Provincias**, in the category of Written Press and Online Media, for his work "Driving ages at a dizzying pace" (La conducción envejece a ritmo vertiginoso). **Ana María Herrero**, from **Onda Cero Palencia**, was chosen in the Radio category, for her report "Is there an age limit to drive?" (¿Existe una edad límite para conducir?), broadcast in the programme "Más de Uno"; and **Beatriz Correal, from La Sexta**, in the TV category, for the informative piece "The speed limit comes into force" (Entra en vigor el límite de velocidad). The winner of each category will receive **€10,000 tax-free**.

In the course of this gala, the **Solidarity Award (€10,000 tax-free**) was presented to the **FEDACE (Spanish Brain Injury Federation),** for **its contribution to improving the quality of life of people who suffer brain injury**, and of their families.



The winner of the **Honorary Road Safety Journalism Award** was also announced and wen to **Enrique Hernández-Luike** posthumously, for his excellent work disseminating and raising awareness throughout his extensive professional career at the head of the Luike Group.

Journalist **Jon Sistiaga** spoke during the gala, to stress the importance of the work done by media professionals through his professional experience as a war reporter, and encouraged road safety journalists to continue to focus on the human stories behind traffic accidents. He also recounted his personal experiences covering conflicts in various parts of the planet, such as Afghanistan, Iraq, Kosovo and Rwanda.

According to **Patricia Ayuela**, CEO of Línea Directa Aseguradora and Vice President of the Línea Directa Foundation, "life sometimes hits us with inevitable tragedies. But along with these situations, there are other challenges on which we can act. One of them is, without a doubt, the great silent tragedy of road deaths. On the road, on the pavement or in the bike lane, we can all do something, as we must bear in mind that 90% of accidents are caused by human recklessness".

Pere Navarro, Director General of Traffic, said that "the Línea Directa Foundation Road Safety Journalism Award is already part of the calendar of those of us who are dedicated to road safety. I believe that, to some extent, this event has helped to reduce deaths in traffic accidents, since it rewards the work of media professionals, who are key to improving the behaviour of all drivers".

The jury of the Road Safety Journalism Award

The jury, chaired by **Pere Navarro** and made up of various company, communication and road safety figures, has assessed more than **1,900 submissions** based on criteria such as quality, awareness-raising efforts and approach. The members of the jury were:

- Pere Navarro, Director General of Transport. Chairman of the Jury.
- María del Pilar González de Frutos, President of UNESPA (Spanish Association of Insurance and Reinsurance Companies).
- Pere Macias i Arau, Chairman of the Commission for Road Safety of the Chamber of Deputies during the 2011-2015 legislature.
- Pedro Guerrero Guerrero, Chairman of Bankinter.
- Carlos Franganillo, Journalist and presenter of the 2nd edition of the Telediario de La 1 (TVE).
- Leticia Iglesias, Journalist and presenter of Informativos TELECINCO.
- Cristina Villanueva, Journalist and presenter of LA SEXTA NOTICIAS.
- Iván Gómez, Journalist of DIARIO DE ALMERÍA, winner in the 18th edition of the Road Safety Journalism Prize under Written Press and Online Media.

For all information about the 19th Linea Directa Foundation Road Safety Journalism Prize: https://premioperiodistico.fundacionlineadirecta.org/

Línea Directa Foundation

It is a non-profit institution that was created in 2014 with the aim of helping to build a better and safer society by promoting various initiatives with road safety as its main area of action. The



Foundation was set up by Línea Directa Aseguradora as a further show of its commitment to reduce traffic accidents.

For more information:

Línea Directa Foundation

Santiago Velázquez Head of Communication santiago.velazquez@fundacionlineadirecta.org

Tel: 682 196 953

Ricardo Carrasco

ricardocarrasco.perez@fundacionlineadirecta.org

Tel: 682 387 533

Follow us on:















Trescom

Isabel Gata <u>isabel.gata@trescom.es</u> 630 70 10 69

Mari Luz Marcos mariluz.marcos@trescom.es 608 17 15 36